Just Routine

It’s so easy to take things for granted.

A roof over my head.

A warm meal.

Clean clothes.

A family.

A job.

Friends.

Education.

These things are all “just routine” for me. They are part of my everyday life, I’m used to having them.

I find myself wanting more, feeling an unquenched thirst for new things. It’s normal to feel that way… I think.

When I stop — and think — I begin to realize that I already have more than I need. There are people, hundreds of thousands of people who have close to nothing. Many people are homeless, hungry, orphaned, dirty, unemployed, and uneducated. They have no shelter from the weather, no food, no way to clean their clothes, no family, no money, no true friends, and no education. I can’t imagine being in their situation and I’m sure many of them never could’ve imagined being where they are now before it happened.

I hope to continue to have these moments where I realize what others endure. Then I can learn to appreciate what I have and help others to achieve their goals in life.

I don’t know if that made sense. Ha! I’ve been realizing more and more lately that the title I gave this blog: “Thoughtful Flutterings” is insanely accurate. I just have random thoughts sometimes and I decided to make a blog out of them.

I think what I’m trying to say is, I don’t want to take my life for granted anymore. I want to be thankful, I want to show appreciation, I want to be generous, and I want to care. I want to genuinely care about others. Not in word only, not in emotion only, but in action. I want to show people that I care, by being interested in them. I want to help them feel significant in their uniqueness. To appreciate their individuality.

Imagine if you…

…inspired someone to pursue their dreams.

…encouraged someone in their strengths.

…were a true friend to someone.

…helped someone feel valued.

…made someone’s day.

…made someone smile.

Now imagine if someone…

…inspired you to pursue your dreams.

…encouraged you in your strengths.

…was a true friend to you.

…helped you feel valued.

…made your day.

…made you smile.

I’m sure most of you have done or experienced many of these things. I just wish that I could do these things consistently. I want to be a righteous woman of God. Whether large or small, I want to make a difference in someone’s life.

Talk to you next time.

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

