Light in the Darkness

I’m looking in on a broken world through a two-way mirror. I see so much brokenness, so many people lost without hope, so many people who feel worthless and unseen. Sure, there’s joy and happiness in the world, but it doesn’t last. If there’s one thing I’ve learned through being an ENFP (The Campainer: fascinated by personality), it’s that everyone has a story, everyone is holding something inside them; afraid to let it into view. No matter how put together, happy, peaceful, and okay they may seem, everyone is struggling with something unseen.

There may never come a day when everyone believes in God. That’s just the way it’s always been. It’s a sad reality to me, as a believer, but it’s the way it is.

Believing in and loving God didn’t solve all my problems. In fact, with it came more hard times, trials, and persecution. Just like most people, I put on a mask. Not a different personality, just a mask to hide my inner struggles from most of the people I interact with. Only a couple of people see me unmasked.

Through all of my pain, I have an overwhelming peace. I never feel abandoned, I never feel alone, I never feel unloved. That kind of security is impossible without God. Temporarily another human being can provide something similar, but they will never be able to satisfy our needs in the depth that God can. That just not the way we’re made. We can’t be single handedly responsible for the emotional stability of another in the entirety that they so desperately need.

Don’t get me wrong, I cry just about everyday. Happy tears and sad tears. I am a very emotional person. I connect through emotion. Life is hard, stress is hard, work is hard, school is hard. Yet it’s all beautiful too. There is beauty in pain. I’m sure most of you have heard the phrase “no pain, no gain” it’s a gruff statement, but I can’t agrue with it.

I want to be a light in the darkness. I want to be an example of God’s love. I’m not an evangelist. I’m not seeking to convert people. I want people to see who God is and choose for themselves to follow Him. I don’t judge people, I love and accept everyone regardless of whether or not I agree with their lifestyle. It grieves me to see people engage in self-destructive behaviors and run from the only one who can give them lasting peace, but I can’t make that decision for them. All I can do is love them, pray for them, listen to them, and give them friendly advice. 

I hope and pray that my life will be a reflection of God’s love. I long to be a loyal and trusted friend. Father, if I can’t change the world with kindness, let me at least change one life. Let me show someone a love they never knew existed. Help me to show someone their worth. Help me to love the broken-hearted.

I never want to become callused to the world around me. I never want to miss an opportunity to help someone feel significant. I want to live for others.

“Make me a servant, humble and meek. Lord let me lift up, those who are weak. And may the prayer of my heart always be, ‘make me a servant, make me a servant, make me a servant today.'”

– Kids Praise (old VHS from my childhood)

God bless.

Leave a Reply

